Update – 13 weeks/20 weeks

Just wanted to write a quick note about how things are progressing. When I get out of bed in the morning or if I’ve been sitting for a long time I notice that the outside of my feet hurt when I start to walk (not the arch side but along the little toe side) The pain goes after a few minutes of walking but it’s definitely a new pain so I felt I should mention it. Not quite sure how long this is going to last. I guess I’ll find out! Other than that everything seems to be progressing OK. Haven’t started yoga or pilates yet. I’m hoping to start back at the gym next week.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Evie on June 16, 2011 at 1:41 PM

    Would it be crazy to ask you to post pics of your feet in flip flops? I have always wanted to wear them, but don’t because people stare at my feet. Do yours look normal in flip flops? Also, have you tried wearing heels?

    Reply

    • Thanks for commenting Evie. I will try and post some pics of my feet in flip flops. I totally understand what you’re saying, I hated wearing them before because people would stare at my feet (or so I felt!!) also they were uncomfortable.
      I still can’t wear heels but that’s because I have Mortons Neuroma – so I get horrendous pain in the ball of my feet when I wear heels. I actually met with my doctor today and got a cortisone/steroid injection (painful!!) and he gave me some ball of foot pads to wear when I’m in heels. hopefully it works!
      Have u had the hyprocure surgery? Or are u thinking about it?

      Reply

      • Posted by Evie on July 5, 2011 at 7:50 AM

        I hate that I’m so vain, but I seriously don’t wear shorts, capris, skirts, etc., just because people stare at my feet. I haven’t had the surgery yet, but am very interested. My daughter also has severly flat feet, and I would like us to both have the proceedure done.
        My main concern is that Kaiser does not pay for the proceedure, but instead will cover the more extensive reconstructive surgery. The podiatrist did not seem all that supportive of the implant. So, to have that done on a child scares me a bit.
        I too, would love to be able to wear heels without being in so much pain. Although is anyone without pain while wearing heels?? I’m not sure 🙂

  2. Posted by dawn on May 14, 2014 at 10:32 AM

    I’d like to know how feet agree doing now, 2014 3 yes later from implants. I’m about to done one foot in June. .would rely lime to know how they are now!

    Reply

    • Hi dawn,

      I still get a little “twinge” in my left foot if I step down badly or on a very uneven surface but I believe scar tissue formed around one of my nerves which is causing the sharp pain every so often.

      However life is pretty much normal with the implants. I actually took up running last year and am now running 5K (3.1 miles) about 4 times a week and having the implants hasn’t affected it!!!! On a side note I didn’t run before I had the implants so I don’t know if my feet feel different running with or without the implants! Good luck with the surgery!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

